Low-Code Designer > Setting up interfaces > Widget types > Data Widgets / Associated items

Associated items

By using the Associated items widget, you can link apps from different workspaces in such a manner that the items of one app are displayed on the page of another app. For example, all the orders made by a customer can be listed on the customer's page, with a link to each order. 

The Associated items widget can be set in any app. Let's say you have a Projects app that you want to link to the Companies app so that a customer's page displays all the projects that you have done for them. You can set this up in several steps. 

Step 1. Add the Company field to the Projects app

Go to the Advanced mode in the Form settings of the Projects app. Add a new app type field. Select the Companies app.

AI1

Make sure that you check the Search and Sort box next to this field. Otherwise, you will not be able to link the apps.

AI2

Step 2.  Add a new tab to the company page

Go to the Companies app and open the View tab in the Form settings. Note that the Advanced mode is now the default editing mode for this app.

Add a new tab by dragging it from the side panel or by clicking on the + sign next to an existing tab. Let's name the tab Projects. 

The Hide, Read only, HTML styles, On mouse enter handler, On mouse leave handler settings are the general widget settings. Read more about them in this article.

AI3

Step 3. Add and configure the widget

Drag the Associated items widget to the new tab.

AI4

The widget settings window opens. Select the Projects app and mark the fields that you want to be visible on the tab. To add a field, click +.

AI5

Save the settings. Now, the company page has the Projects tab. All associated projects will be shown there.

AI6

In the editing mode, you can delete the tabs you don’t want and move them around. Also, instead of using a separate tab, you can place the widget right on the view form, if that suits you better.

If you delete a project linked to a certain customer, it will also be deleted from the company page.