Projects / Set up permissions and roles in Projects

Set up permissions and roles in Projects

You can easily customize access to the Projects workspace including its apps, folders, and app items. For instance, you can grant the permission to create projects only to employees included in the Administrators group.

Access is role-based. By assigning people to certain roles you determine who can create and edit the project plan, who can monitor the work progress, and who can only open the project page.

Set up access to the workspace

Access is configured in the settings of the built-in apps.

By default, access to the workspaces apps is provided to all users. To restrict it, do the following:

  1. In the workspaces left menu, click Set Up. Make the app you want to configure access to visible in the menu.
  2. Click on the gear icon next to the apps name in the workspace menu and select Access Settings.
  3. Select Restrict access to data and specify the type of access: Restrict access to app, Restrict access to app folders or Restrict access to app items.
  4. Add a user, user group, or organizational chart item to the table and specify the types of access permissions granted to them.

Restrict access to a project

To restrict access to a project, open its page. In the About the Project widget, click lock-icon. In the pop-up, select a user, user group or org chart item and specify the type of permissions granted.

Assign users to roles

The roles and the assigned users are shown on the project page in the About the Project widget:

prj_edit1

  • Project Manager. The employee responsible for the project who will create and edit the project plan.
  • Project Supervisor. The employee who monitors the work progress. The Project Supervisor cannot create, edit, or publish the project plan. However, they can edit general information on the project’s page.
  • Project Plan Editor. Users apart from the Project Manager who can edit the project plan, send it for approval, and publish.
  • Project Participants. Users assigned to the roles listed above as well as those specified in the Task and Milestone assignments.

In a project, there can be only one Project Manager and one Project Supervisor. They are assigned to the role when the project is created or edited. To specify the project participants or the Project Plan Editors, first add these fields to the creation and editing forms of the project:

  1. Click Set Up in the workspaces left menu and make the Projects built-in app visible.
  2. Click on the gear icon next to the apps name and select Form Settings.
  3. In the pop-up, go to the Create or Edit tab. Add the Project Participants and Project Plan Editors fields from the Context panel to the right-hand side of the form.
  4. Save the changes.

Now you can assign users to these roles when creating the project or editing its information.

Sort project by role

The Projects workspace has prebuilt folders and filters: All, Project Participant, Project Supervisor, Project Manager. Use them to sort all the projects by your role in them.

Found a typo? Highlight the text, press ctrl + enter and notify us