Access permissions to an app can be configured depending on the employee’s position or role. For example, a sales manager can create, edit or delete items in the Deals app, whereas a sales rep can only view them.
Before you start configuring advanced access settings for an app, its folders, and app items, make sure that the employees you want to grant additional permissions are included in the groups that have access to the workspace and access to the app. If an employee is not included in the groups specified in the workspace’s and app’s settings, all additional permissions will be ignored. Nevertheless, the employee can get access to app items by opening them via direct links.
To manage access settings, click the icon to the right of the app’s name and select Access Settings.
The Access Settings page will open. The default option is All users have access to the app and all its items. This means that any user in the system can create, view, edit, and delete app items, as well as export its data and import data to it.
If you wish to configure access to the app’s folders or items for specific employees, select Restrict access to data.
When the Restrict access to data option is enabled, you can select users and specify which actions they are allowed to perform with app items.
There are three options for restricting access to app items:
- Restrict access to app. If you select this option, the access settings in the table will be applied to all items in the app.
- Restrict access to app folders. If folder hierarchy is enabled, you can configure different access settings for different app folders.
- Restrict access to app items. If you select this option, access can be configured individually for each app item. Here you can also set permissions specifically for an app item’s author.
- View/Read. Users can view and load the app item. Items of the Document type can be downloaded to PC.
- Create. Users can create new app items.
- Edit. Users can edit existing app items and change their names. For Document type apps, they can add file versions.
- Delete. Users can delete app items.
- Assign Permissions. Users can grant permissions and limit access to app items for other users. This option is not available for the Restrict access to app option.
- Process management. Users can interrupt business processes, view task pages, and reassign tasks.
- Export. Users can export app items that they can view. This option is not available when you configure permissions for specific app folders.
- Import. Users can import data to the app. This option is not available when you configure permissions for specific app folders.
- Full Access. All the actions mentioned above are allowed.
Found a typo? Highlight the text, press ctrl + enter and notify us