When someone sends a message to a live chat, all operators of this live chat are notified, and a counter of new request appears in the bottom left corner of the page.
- The red counter on the Live Chats workspace icon shows the number of unread messages in sessions assigned to the operator or supervisor with the operator’s rights.
- The counters at the bottom of the page show the total number of new unassigned sessions in the live chats that the employee is responsible for.
- is shown only to operators.
- is available to supervisors.
- The red icon next to the session name indicates the number of unread messages in that session.
- The New icon is placed next to each unassigned session in the general list of sessions.
To start working on a new session, an operator clicks the blue counter in the bottom left corner of the page. The session page opens.
Note that operators in the Offline status can only view sessions. To reply to a message or change a session’s parameters, an operator has to change their status to Online. Read more in the Operator status article.
The left menu of the workspace features Response Templates, the Sessions app, the Report page, and all sessions available to the user. The sessions are grouped. Read more in How the Live Chats workspace is organized.
- In the center of the page, the conversation between the operator and the customer is displayed. If the customer contacted you via an instant messenger, the messenger’s icon is displayed to the right of the message.
The operator can quote any message from the session in the response by clicking it with the right mouse button and selecting this action.
By hovering the mouse over a file attached to a message, the operator can do the following:
- Download the file to their PC by clicking .
- Save a copy of the file in the selected folder in the Files workspace by clicking .
- Open the file’s preview by clicking the area around the file.
When you finish the conversation, click the Close Session button. The supervisor and all the live chat’s operators receive a notification in their activity stream. The session becomes inactive, but the chat history is saved in the system. It will be shown in the chat the next time the customer sends you a message.
- At the bottom of the page you can see the field for the operator’s response. Here you can send text messages, attach files, and use ready-made response templates by clicking the icon.
- On the right-hand side of the session window you can see the About the Session pane. It includes:
- The icon in the upper right corner that allows you to mark the session as spam. A session like this won’t be displayed in the list of all live chat sessions, routing rules won’t be applied to it, its data won’t be included in reports, and business processes won’t be started automatically for it. Locked sessions can be viewed in the Sessions app.
Click the icon again to remove a session from spam.
- The name of the live chat and the session as well as the date of the first message. You can edit the name of the session by clicking the pencil icon.
- The designated operator or group that the operator belongs to. Use the icon to reassign the session to another operator or group of operators specified in the live chat’s settings. If the operator of the main group that initially received the message doesn’t have the expertise to process the request, they can reassign the session to an expert group, for example, to the Accounting Department. The operator or group of operators will see a notification saying that the session has been reassigned to them in their activity stream.
- The session’s priority set by the supervisor or the operator. It shows how important the request is. Click the icon to change the priority. You can choose between Low, Medium, and High priority. The default value is Priority not set.
- The apps selected in the settings for binding accounts and registering messages. To create a new item of the app, for example, to register a new reclamation, click +Bind and then click the button.
- The +Actions button. For the moment, one action is available:
- Start Business Process. During a conversation, the operator can launch an instance of any process right from the chat window, for example, if a customer places an order. The operator takes down all the details and starts the order handling process. The operator won’t have to specify the input data for the business process. To learn more, see Manually start a business process.
- Information about the customer:
- If the person who is contacting you is an ELMA365 user, you will see the Internal user section with their avatar and a link to their profile.
- If an internal or external user contacts you via an instant messenger connected to the live chat, their info will be copied from their messenger profile: name, avatar, account, and name of the messenger. You can add a new customer to your database and create an item of the app specified in the live chat settings in the To bind an account field. To do that, first click +Bind below the app’s name, then click .
You can also lock the account of an external customer. To do that, on the right of their name click the icon and select Lock Account. A window where you need to specify the locking rules will open. Read more in the Blocklist article.
To unlock a user, click the same icon again and select Unlock Account.
Search in live chats
At the top of the Live Chats workspace you can see the search bar. By default, the search is performed by chats and messages:
- If a specific session is opened, the search is performed by its name and by the history of messages in this chat.
- If no session is opened, the search is performed only by session names.
Other than that, the search is performed in the same way as in chats in the Messages workspace.
To find a session by parameters, for example, creation date or operator, use search in the Sessions app.
Found a typo? Highlight the text, press ctrl + enter and notify us